Month: May 2014

  • Fire Up the Smoker

    Wednesday brought blue skies, warm temps, and a calling from my smoker. I have not turned it on since moving here two years ago. The bottom is rusted out and the lava rocks are missing but it still holds heat and a foil pack of wood chips generate ample smoke.

    May_Chicken May_Cooked_Chicken
    I placed 11 pounds of chicken on the unit and held the temperature very low for six hours. The birds took on a mahogany color and light smokey flavor. Carl helped me pick the meat off after they cooled. I plan to build a smoked chicken salad with celery, nuts, and either apple or grapes.

    May_Kitchen_Rose
    My favorite rose bloomed today just outside my kitchen window. Between the mountains I view surounding Seattle and this rose, how can I not have a great day!

  • Woodland Park Zoo

    Today we celebrate Memorial Day with a family ride to the local zoo.
    14May_40084
    I set up all the bikes last night. When can all of my family run the same clipless pedals? I set up for Time, SPD, and rat traps. Between pumping up tires, adjusting seats, and changing pedals, I got a workout just getting ready. It is not a long ride but taking a family of five across several busy streets kept mom and dad on our toes.

    14May_40090
    Here is my proof we made it. It is difficult to ride the bikes past Red Mill Burger without complete chaos. I planned to stop on the way home.

    14May_40125 14May_40093 14May_40110
    Our theme at the zoo today was "Birds". You can click on each one for a larger picture. This was mom's first visit so we made the big loop and saw a little of everything. The crowds were light and the sun even came out for us.

    Penguin swimming!

    After the zoo we hit the hardware store for tomato fertilizer. I noticed that Ace Hardware was offering 9.5% off everything, and 20% off for veterans today. I don't think I want to be 20% off, I am unpaid as it is!

    We rode by Red Mill but to my disappointment, they were closed this holiday. Sorry Veronica, you will have to wait for that promised burger. Perhaps I will grill burgers tonight. Judy's comment at the end of the ride was how wonderful it was! We all kept a tight group, nobody crashed, and no parking problems at the zoo. I call that a fantastic ride. For ride details, look me up on Strava. Thank you family.

  • Whitman Musical

    Post written by Veronica:
    The reason that this post must be written by me is because while there were two shows my father failed to show up at either. He didn't come to the first because he said he would come to the second and he didn't come to the second because his Haul Ash bike ride went longer then expected.
    Anyway both performances went well and because it was a ROCK musical the songs in the musical consisted of; Stay'in Alive by the Bee Gees, True Blue by Madonna, Demons by Imagine Dragons and many others. I was mainly a back up singer/dancer (aka Doo-wop girl) but I also had a small speaking role as the captain of a ship the crashes before reaching land. The musical was Dracula but not being a main speaker I didn't really have a good idea of the plot line. I just know it had great music!

    14April_40049
    This photo was taken by my mother who went to the first show with my brothers. I am in the front row second to the right. My best friend Alicia is in the front row as well in the blue shirt. She got one of the lead roles but is a dude.
    Dad has promised me he will take me out to lunch at Red mill burgers to make up for missing the show. I still love my father, maybe a little less.

  • Seattle All City Track Meet

    On May 15th, Veronica ran in the All City Track Meet. She ran two events, the 400, and 1600 (mile). The 400 was tough with a time of 1:08. She came in about 5th and felt OK about it. Later she ran the 8th grade girls 1600!

    14April_39992 14April_39993 14April_39995
    This sequence shows the start, exit of first turn, and exit of second turn.

    After the start she immediately got caught in traffic and fell to the back of the pack. In the second shot she is the far girl in the yellow jersey passing her teammate for 3rd. In the far right shot she takes the lead before the end of the first lap.

    14April_40003
    In this photo the starter is firing the gun signifying to the rest of the runners that the leader has started the final lap.
    On this third lap (4 laps total) she opened up quite the lead. Veronica tells me she ran her own pace and felt worried her team mate would pass her, Veronica is not a strong sprinter at the finish... Well, nobody came close and guess what.

    14April_40011 14April_39986
    That is my girl. Veronica is the fastest 8th grade girl in Seattle running the mile! Great Job Veronica.

  • 8th Grade Science Fair

    Today was the Whitman Middle School science fair. The top six projects in each grade will go on to the District Science Fair at the Museum of Flight next month. Guess who is going?
    14April_39870