November 29, 2014

  • Snow!

    Our first snow of the season. Friday I rode my 130 km challenge. The ride started with 50 degree temperatures and ended at 34. I expected snowflakes that last 10 miles. Both gloves and booties sloshed with water. I estimate at least two cups of water hitched a ride with me. I finished with hands so cold I could not even remove my gear. You can see my ride on Strava. In the end, I met my goal. Thank you family for supporting me.

    Watching the weather Friday, we expected snow in the forcast. Sure enough, we awoke to about an inch.
    14November_44129
    It does not happen often but always proves to be beautiful. We love the sense of silence and serenity the snow brings...until the boys get at it.
    14November_44132 14November_44134 14November_44136
    They eagerly built a snowman and enjoyed the fluffy blanket of peace. We were also treated to a young hummer sampling the nectar I refreshed yesterday.
    14November_44151
    This was a tricky picture, every time I approached the kitchen window to snap a pic, the bird flew away. I finally set the Nikon on a tripod and got out my wireless remote. Judy snapped this picture. As the bird was sitting on the feeder, the wind picked up and twirled the whole feeder, with bird, around. Another beautiful day in the Pacific Northwest.