Month: December 2014

  • Boeing 767-2C First Flight

    14December_44810 14December_44805
    Sunday began with a light rain and sunbreaks. Families of Boeing employees gathered atop the Museum of Flight for the 9 AM take-off. We arrived at 8 when the gates opened so it took some constitution to brave the cold. This was Cousin Jane’s first viewing of a first flight. Some guests dressed up for the event.

    The 767-2C designation applies to this variant of the Boeing 767-200 used by the airlines. This particular plane is tail number 001. Right now it is going through FAA certification. It will become a KC-46 after military certification.

    Plane spotters lined the public road leading up to the airfield.

    Plane spotters lined the public road leading up to the airfield.


    The plane completed taxi tests the day before. Today was all about a VIP reception and first flight. The executives and military brass viewed the airplane before engine start. Then the plane taxied to the North end of the runway and afforded this great view.
    14December_44828
    A slow turn to the South got the plane into position for a take-off to the North. Boeing piped the tower radio so we could hear the pilots as they prepared for flight. The spotter planes get into position and all was ready. With a short fuel load and a light equipment, the roll was very short. Veronica made a fantastic video.

    I caught these images with my 600mm lens. The plane took off towards us and offered fantastic views for the public.
    14December_44750 14December_44756 14December_44766
    Here, the chase plane (Lockheed T-33A Shooting Star) joins up for an external inspection.
    14December_44781
    The plan flew down to Boeing Field where it will continue its testing and certification process. I hope to see it there on my next bike ride around the lake. If you drive I-5 South of Seattle, look for the plane on the West side of the freeway.

  • Carl rides to Alki Lighthouse

    Carl and I took another spin on the tandem with my cycling buddies last week. I track all our rides on Strava so you can get all the details.

    WP_20141223_10_16_04_Pro

    Every time I ride the tandem I think I should ride it more. At the slightest clear streatch of road, Carl and I put the hammer down and took off. We hit 35 mph on one pull. The rain was light and I did not have a fender on the back. My friends are getting a little tired of fighting the spray off my wheel. Our wet weather gear worked great and we completed the two hour ride warm and dry. Go Carl!