March 21, 2015

  • Happy Birthday Bach

    Written by Veronica:

    After a cloudy and rainy morning at track practice it finally cleared up around noon and Dad and I rode our bikes over to Phinney Ridge Lutheran Church. Today is Bach's 330th birthday and in honor of it the Seattle Violoncello Society hosted the Bach Suite Marathon at Phinney Ridge. One by one, cellists went up and played a movement from Bach's Six Suites for Solo Violoncello. Dad and I stayed for Suite #2 in D minor and Suite #5 in C minor.

    15March_45444
    All of the cellists have hard cases for their cellos in a variety of colors. I told Dad that all of the REAL cellists have one so I need to get one too.

    15March_45449
    My cello teacher, Chuck Jacot, performed the Sarabande and the Gavottes from Suite #5 in C minor.

    15March_45452
    Good job to all the cellists who performed!